John and Abigail Adams Scholarship

*The following is a brief description for students. Institutions should refer to the most recent guidelines for information.

The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship is a merit-based program that provides a credit toward tuition for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university. For this scholarship, merit is based on student scores on the 10th grade Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) test.

The purpose of the award is to:

Who Is Eligible?

To be eligible for the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship, a student in the class of 2015 or earlier must

Students in the class of 2016 or after must

In addition, all students must meet the following requirements:

1 See for more details.

2 Pursuant to Section 9 of Chapter 15A, as amended by Section 11 of Chapter 28 of the Acts of 2023.

Eligible Institutions

An institution within the system of public institutions of higher education as identified in Section 5 of Chapter 15A of the Massachusetts General Laws.

Award Amounts

Recipients of the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship are eligible for an award of a merit-based credit toward tuition. Individual student awards at State Universities and Community Colleges shall be no more than the resident undergraduate tuition rate at the participating institutions. Individual student awards at the University of Massachusetts shall be valued at $1,714 at Amherst, $1,714 at Boston, $1,417 at Dartmouth, and $1,454 at Lowell.

Click here to see the current and recent value of the Adams Scholarship.

This tuition credit cannot be combined with any other tuition credits.

How to Apply

There is no application process for the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship. Students that are eligible for the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship will be notified in the fall of their senior year in high school.

.pdf John and Abigail Adams Scholarship Guidelines